Scrabble Tile Thank You Card

Uncategorized

The need to send thank-you cards always sneaks up on me so for the last year I’ve tried to keep a few on hand to send out last-minute. This is one of my favourites from the ones I made in 2014.

Scrabble tile thanks

First, I took some cream card and began my repeated stamping of the Scrabble “Thank You” sentiment. I heat-embossed in some non-shimmery gold and silver ink. I didn’t want any shimmer because of the matte gold paper I planned to use.

Once the cream card was full enough for my liking, I die-cut it using Lawn Fawn’s stitched journaling card die. Then, while I had my die-cutting machine out, I cut out the “Scripty Thanks” from Lawn Fawn out of gold paper and the Sizzix heart from red.

I trimmed the remaining gold paper to fit vertically across my card and, once I was happy, stuck it to some black and silver paper that I’ve had in my collection for a while. I trimmed around the edges until I liked the look (you might notice a theme in this blog that I don’t like measuring!).

Once I had everything ready, I adhered it all to the card with double-sided tape. I stuck the heart down with foam tape so it stands out a bit more than the rest, though you can’t see it so well in the photo.

Lastly, I rounded off the corner with a Hobbycraft punch. If you want some punches, I suggest going for a brand you trust (I’ll probably try X-Cut next). I’ve bought two Hobbycraft punches because they were so cheap, but they both broke after very few uses.

Products Used

Stitched journaling card die –

http://www.makethedayspecial.co.uk/shop.php#!/Stitched-Journaling-Card/p/28367176/category=5302074

Scripty Thanks die –

http://www.makethedayspecial.co.uk/shop.php#!/Scripty-Thanks/p/36694218/category=5302074

Sizzix Big Shot Die-Cutting Machine Starter Kit (this is the machine I use and is where the heart came from) –

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sizzix-Shot-Machine-Starter-Powder/dp/B00BWJBII6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1422805930&sr=8-1&keywords=big+shot+starter+kit

Corner punch (this isn’t the one I used but will try it and report back):

http://www.hobbycraft.co.uk/xcut-corner-punch-10mm/584749-1000

Scrabble tile thank you stamp – I can’t find this online and can’t remember where I got it as I’ve had it for YEARS. But here is a similar “LOVE” if you just like the style –

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dovecraft-Photopolymer-Assorted-WEDDING-scrabble/dp/B00L271QJO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1422806244&sr=8-1&keywords=scrabble+stamp

2 thoughts on “Scrabble Tile Thank You Card

Leave a Reply

