Romantic Card-Making Challenge (Cardmakingandpapercraft.com)

Uncategorized

This challenge is great because it’s not just lovey-dovey cards that make the cut – as long as you use hearts somewhere on your card, anything goes.

Thank You Card

Thanks glitter hearts

Lawn Fawn “Scripty Thanks” *** X Cut nesting hearts dies *** Darice embossing folder – peacock *** Blue blank cards from Hobbycraft

I don’t have a love-hate relationship with glitter. I just hate it. I hate the mess it makes, I hate the fact that once the little parasitic particles get on your hands, they never come off. But I do think it’s pretty, so I was pleased to find a way to use it without it getting everywhere.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZMoXDsVcYI

If you’re like me and can’t stand all these problems, have a look at Jennifer McGuire’s video in that ^ link. She shows techniques for minimising mess and I was inspired by her Glossy Accents idea near the video’s end.

I die-cut 2 hearts and covered them in purple and blue glitter. I then die-cut a “thanks” sentiment and covered half in blue and half in purple. (Well, half in blue, half in purple and blue. Glitter fail!)

I used a peacock embossing folder on white card and cut this slightly smaller than my light-blue card. Then I adhered everything with double-sided tape.

Valentine’s Day Card

Inkadinkado CC wedding stamps Papermania relations stamps Miscellaneous Lawn Fawn stamps Versamark watermark inkpad

Inkadinkado wedding stamps ***
Papermania relations stamps ***
Miscellaneous Lawn Fawn stamps ***
Versamark watermark inkpad

When I saw “hearts”, this is the card that came to me.

I embossed the word “Love” on to red card along with 4 hearts from some Lawn Fawn stamp sets using repeated stamping and embossing.

I stamped “To my” on vellum and embossed with bright white embossing powder (terrifying, but the paper didn’t warp at all!), then die-cut two banners out of remaining vellum paper.

Then I took a square card blank and trimmed matching red card down to 14.8cm all around and then took this “Love” vellum paper and trimmed that to about 14.5cm.

I took cut leftover red card to a width I liked, then cut some white card about a centimetre less. No need to emboss “Boyfriend” – I liked the way the black ink looked on its own. At first, I was going to put the embossed heart and vellum banner (it makes me think of tattoos!) in the middle above “Boyfriend” but I like its quirky angle here.

Lastly, I die-cut a Sizzix heart and used a foam pad to stick it to the white card so it has a 3D effect. My last-minute decision for a black border meant I had to unpick my tattoo heart, but it came apart easily enough.

I’m not sure if this is the card I’ll actually give my boyfriend since I’m not as keen on the finished product as I was on the idea. (He might wonder who it’s for, though, if he gets a completely  different one!)

“Best Wishes”

Die cut heart

Sizzix flower die *** Sequins and other embellishments from local craft shops and Hobbycraft *** Peel-off from local craft shop

This is one of my favourites of all the cards I’ve made, but no one else seems as impressed with it as me! I love the colours and that you could use it for nearly any occasion.

Firstly, I trimmed the coral card so it was 2mm smaller than my card blank. Then I die-cut a heart from the middle and stuck patterned paper behind it for this window effect.

I die-cut this Sizzix flower and arranged some sequins  before sticking them down with clear-drying glue. Then I couldn’t leave it alone so the pink gems came out too!

Lastly, I used this ‘best wishes’ peel-off and voila! A simple card for any occasion.

I haven’t added a full list of products since there are 3 different cards, but if you want to know anything specific just ask in the comments and I’ll let you know.

You can enter the hearts challenge here: http://www.cardmakingandpapercraft.com/challenge/romantic-cardmaking-challenge It’s free and you can upload as many cards as you like, but it is only for UK residents.

2 thoughts on “Romantic Card-Making Challenge (Cardmakingandpapercraft.com)

Leave a Reply

