New Buy Alert! – X Cut Balloons Dies

Uncategorized

Although I’ve been making birthday cards for years, I recently realised I don’t have any of the staple balloon dies or stamps that make it so much easier to put together a last-minute birthday card. To remedy this as soon as possible, I ordered these X Cut balloons dies and have been itching to use them.


product

The set comes with 6 different balloons plus strings and  bows. The amount of dies you get for your money is brilliant, but I found there’s really no way to avoid unwanted imprints while using these. The shine marks are attached, so you get an unsightly line from the shine to the outside of the balloon.

I made several cards using the dies and decided to share these ones.

Red & Gold Birthday Balloons

mini birthday card

I cut 3 balloons out of red card and 2 out of gold “happy birthday” patterned paper from my leftovers stash. I stuck some Elizabeth Craft sticky paper on the back of some gold paper and die-cut the strings out, so when I peeled the Elizabeth Craft paper off I was able to adhere it directly on to my card base, trimming off the excess.

Alternating red and gold, I laid down the balloons on top of the strings. As it was a white background, I was able to leave most of the shine marks as they were, but on the two top balloons I had to stick some white card behind them as I didn’t want the other balloons to show through.

Finally I stamped ‘Happy Birthday’ in red ink in the top corner.

Balloons in the Sky Card

birthday card standing birthday card

I blended Distress Ink quite messily over my card, using masking tape to ensure I had a clean edge once I was finished. I was quite rough with this – the only thing I kept in mind was to  keep one space of the card light for sentiment-stamping.

I die-cut 3 strings out of black paper and chose my balloons. I went for the small balloon as I wanted the effect of it being further away. While I was choosing patterned paper, I came across this starry paper from a Tiny Tatty Teddies paper pack and thought it would be perfect for party balloons.

I stuck white card behind all of the shine marks to stop the blue background showing through. When I was adhering everything I tried to add to the effect of the higher balloons being further away, so I stuck the top balloon down with double-sided tape, used one layer of foam adhesive for the middle balloon and 2 layers for the one at the bottom. Finally I stamped my sentiment in black ink.

Products Used

X Cut large dies – balloons – http://www.amazon.co.uk/Docrafts-10-Piece-Balloons-Carbonised-Steel/dp/B00NEXMTQ8/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1424557733&sr=8-2&keywords=xcut+dies+balloons

Elizabeth Craft Designs adhesive paper – http://www.ecraftdesigns.com/collections/double-sided-adhesive/products/elizabeths-transparent-double-sided-tape-sheet-8-5-x-11-5-pack

Tiny Tatty Teddies paper pack – http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/like/191493408928?limghlpsr=true&hlpv=2&ops=true&viphx=1&hlpht=true&lpid=108&chn=ps&device=c&adtype=pla&crdt=0&ff3=1&ff11=ICEP3.0.0-L&ff12=67&ff13=80&ff14=108&ff19=0

Leave a Reply

