Manly Card Monday #5 – Lager Top Card

Uncategorized

I felt like making a fun, punny card for today, so I dug out this beer stamp and got to thinking what sentiment I could make out of it.

The obvious was ‘Happy Beer-thday’, which I knew would go in the middle of the card. While thinking up puns, I started to stamp and colour my beer-jug image.

Lager Top card

Using Tombow and Whispers Strokes markers, I did a tiny bit of shading with grey on the foam and coloured in the jug with a sort of ochre colour that I think works quite well for this stamp. I also brought in orange for some dimension, but in the end I mostly used the yellow and kept layering it on to make it darker in the shaded areas.

Just using scissors, I cut around my images, leaving a white border so it looks as if they’ve been die-cut. (I didn’t feel up to messing about with that space between the jug and the handle, so that’s why I decided to leave a border.)

My sentiment had come to me at this point. Using Milo’s  ABCs from Lawn Fawn, I assembled ‘Lager Top of the Morning to Ya’, and stamped this not once, but twice, in the same place so that I got a slightly messier, almost distressed look.

After adhering the beer jugs, I took a ruler and a normal ballpoint pen and drew a simple border around my card. As it’s just a regular writing pen, the lines didn’t go down perfectly, but I felt this added to the less-than-perfect look I was going for so I was pleased with that.

Lager Top inside

Using the same alphabet stamps, I stamped “Happy Beerthday” inside the card and drew a second border around that too. (I’m sad that there’s no hyphen in this stamp set – I’m a grammar Nazi so it was hard accepting that I had to spell it that way!)

Products Used:

Beer jug clear stamp – http://www.hobbycraft.co.uk/papercraft/stamping-and-embossing/clear-stamps

Whispers Strokes brush markers – http://www.littlecraftybugs.co.uk/craft-supplies/stationery/pens-for-adults/whispers-strokes-dual-tip-brush-marker-rich-pink.html

Tombow markers – http://www.tomboweurope.com/abt-dual-brush-pen-en.html?category=painting-and-drawing

Milo’s ABCs – http://www.craftie-charlie.co.uk/lawn-fawn-clear-alphabet-letter-stamps-milo-s-abc-lf559.html

2 thoughts on “Manly Card Monday #5 – Lager Top Card

Leave a Reply

