The 5 Evils of Crafting

Uncategorized

A bit of a different post today – I’ve decided to list the things that really frustrate me about card-making!

I’ve left out things like not having a lot of space and the clear-up afterwards as they’re kind of obvious. Let me know if you can think of any crafting evils that wind YOU up!

1. Replacing die-cutting plates

Die-cutting machines are a great investment but the plates can be such a pain. After a while they will get all scratched up and start marking your projects, so you have to spend around £10 every few months replacing them. OK, it’s not that expensive, but it’s a tenner you could spend on something fun.

2. Darn you, acetate!

Shaker cards are insanely fun, but in making them we must overcome a necessary evil: acetate. Lord knows how people manage to make entire cards purely out of acetate. No matter how careful I am, I always get a bit of glue on it that ruins the whole look. Or if it isn’t glue, it’s smudges that appear from nowhere and won’t clean off. Or dust sticks to it. GRR.

3. You always forget something

When card-making, I try to arrange everything around me so that I don’t have to get up again until I’ve finished. But this never works because there is always one thing I forgot and I have to get up again. Then I realise I need that fun new stamp as well…

4. Enormous wooden stamps

This can be a problem with large clear stamps too, but since you can’t see through wooden stamps, bigger images can be a nightmare. I have a stamp in my collection that, no matter how careful I am, the middle part never stamps properly. I have to either resort to a ‘meant-to-do-that’ distressed look or stamp a ridiculous amount of times before I get the image how I want it.

5. Lastly…

My cards never look as good as everyone else’s!!!

Leave a Reply

