Manly Card Monday #9

Birthday Cards, Manly Card Monday

I went on a shopping stampede recently and treated myself to a few sets I’ve been wanting from Lawn Fawn for a while. This was one of them – probably their most reasonably priced, considering how many stamps you get and their versatility.

My card today is more boyish than manly, though the design is quite gender-neutral.

DSCF5374

First, I die-cut two polaroids out of white card, put them against a blank piece of card and drew inside the lines, so that I had a frame ready for my stamping. Then I went a bit stamp-mad, happily combining my monsters with a birthday stamp set from Clearly Besotted. The monsters set comes with a little party hat which fits perfectly on pretty much all the monsters and makes for a great birthday scene.

I coloured some and paper-pieced others. Once finished, I stamped my sentiments and started working on my background.

This is a great technique if you’re lazy, like me! (Or if your paper trimmer is going blunt, like mine!) I just ripped the patterned paper rather than cutting and laid them on top of each other until I got the effect I wanted.

Lastly, I coloured over the balloon with some clear Wink of Stella for a sparkly party effect.

The googly eye was a must as well!

Products Used:

Lawn Fawn “Monster Mash” stamp set, & Lil’ Inker Designs “Instant Camera Die” – http://www.makethedayspecial.co.uk/

Birthday sentiments, balloon and present stamps – http://www.clearlybesottedstamps.com/

Googly eyes and patterned papers – http://www.hobbycraft.co.uk/

Wink of Stella brush – http://www.thehandcraftedcardcompany.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

