Incy Wincy Space and an Incy Wincy Bank Account

Uncategorized

For card-making on a budget, with limited space and time!

A lot of people just don’t have the time or resources to be creative. Some of us have kids, poorly parents, a full-time job, all three and more. Making time for your hobbies is daunting, especially messy ones. Just the thought of the clean-up afterwards can keep you from starting a project at all.

Papercraft can be the worst hobby of all for this reason, because it takes up a lot of storage space and the bits of trimmed paper, glitter, embossing powders, glue, inky fingers, sequins and beads (and more!) often takes all the fun out of it, especially if you have children running around wanting to join in and create even MORE mess.

There are lots of great storage ideas out there and the only one that works every time is not buying the stuff in the first place – but this is your hobby. This is your you-time. Life should not be all about the things you HAVE to do.

I am a crafter like you. I don’t have a cornucopia of colouring techniques because the pens are too expensive. I don’t have a die-cutting machine for every occasion because I can’t afford it – and where the fudge would I put them? I don’t donate all of my time to my card-making because I don’t have all of my time to donate.

This blog is not run by experts, but one person who feels that she is lacking in a place to find ideas from someone with limited resources like her. I do all my paper craft in the corner of my bedroom sitting on the floor – maybe one day I’ll be able to treat myself to a whole room, but not yet. I spend a lot of time thinking about what I want to make, but I can’t sit down every day and do it.

I want this blog to be your blog as much as mine. As much as I love to get tips, ideas and explanations from the hugely talented crafters on YouTube, I often feel frustrated that sometimes I just can’t pull off cards like theirs because I don’t get samples sent to me for free, and I can’t practise as much as the people whose job it is to make cards all day. I’m sure there are a lot of people out there who feel just as frustrated as me.

Don’t think of me as your teacher – most of you are probably much better at this stuff than me. Think of this as your place to share ideas, without feeling the need to run out and spend all of your money on products for this one card you saw that YouTuber make. Let’s help each other out with storage solutions and places to buy must-have products at a lower price. They say the internet is a community, so let’s try to act as a community should and support each other.

Happy card-making!

Leave a comment